History of The Paediatric Association on Nigeria (PAN)

Paediatric Association of Nigeria (PAN) is a non-governmental, non-profit making professional organization, conceived at UCH Ibadan in February 1966 and delivered at LUTH, Lagos in March 1968.  The aims/objectives of the Association are:
  • To actively seek the well-being of children and ensure that their right to quality health care is protected.

  • To promote and advance the practice and study of Paediatrics and Child Health.

  • To encourage research and dissemination of knowledge in all aspects of Paediatrics and Child Health.

  • To safe guard the interest of all workers in the field of Paediatrics and Child Health.

  • To foster friendship  and co-operation among g workers in the field of  Paediatrics and Child Health and allied disciplines.

Paediatrics and Child Health and allied disciplines  

According to Prof. R.G. Hendrickse, in an address titled "The Paediatric Association of Nigeria: Genesis, present Dilemmas and Future  Challenges" delivered at the 21st Annual  General Meeting and Scientific conference and 3rd International Conference of the Paediatric Association of Nigeria, the founding patriarchs were:

  • Prof. I.S. Audu
  • Dr. A. Animashaun
  • Dr. A. Antia
  • Dr. A. Ajenifuja
  • Dr. Adeniyi
  • Dr. O. Ransoma-Kuti
  • Dr. A. Ifekwunigwe
  • Prof. R.G. Hendrickse
  • Prof. M.I. Ogbeide
  • Prof. B. Lesi
  • Dr. Odiakosa
  • Prof. Sinnette and
  • Dr. JB. Familusi.

Executive Council

The affairs of the Paediatric Association of Nigeria are directed by an elected executive council with the following Officers:

  • President
  • Vice President
  • Secretary-General
  • Assistant Secretary
  • Treasurer
  • Immediate Past President
  • 2 Ex-Officio Members
  • Editor, in Chief Nigerian Journal of Pediatric.

The first elected officers

Council has a 3 - year life, followed by elections conducted during the annual general meeting.  The first elected officers of the Association (1968) were:

  • President          -   Prof O. Ransome-Kuti
  • Vice-President  -    Prof R.G. Hendriscke
  • Secretary          -   Dr A. Animashaun
  • Treasurer         -    Dr A. Antia